Space Pirates for X Wing?

DSV-2 Liberator

Visitors to this blog will already be aware that one of my favourite, probably the favourite Sci Fy ship of all time is undoubtedly The Liberator from Blake’s 7.

This ship is available in many scales for the modeller….mostly huge! The ship itself in sci fy reality is in fact meant to be really big…needlessly so in my opinion.

Photo credit Quora.com

I don’t know if this was intended by its designers or the product of something else, the studio scale ship is massive. Perhaps there were issues scaling a smaller model for special effects shots?

Now Scale is an issue in this hobby….as are the number of rivets, but this is Sci Fy and I don’t bloody care hahahahahahaha. I love this ship too much not to be able to use it in a table top game.

My plan is to use it as a “Scum and Villiany” ship in the table top space combat game of X-wing 2.0. I have already designed the pilot cards, base tile and dial for this!

For those of you still reading…………I needed the ship to be big enough to look menacing, yet small enough to fit on the table and fight 1/270 scale starfighters…in the same way that the Millennium Falcon does. Of the options I had, I estimated a ship size of around 15cms long to achieve this. So that is what I’m going with. I will continue to blog about its progress once it lands and I am able to start the construction process. Stay tuned for the next episode!

UPDATE If you would like a small discount on this model, or any others listed by “popcultureprintinguk” mention “Si’s soldiers” in the “make an offer” box on the ebay listings for these models.


Leave a comment