The Prisoner Mini Moke (conversion)


(Anybody wishing to purchase Decal sheet used on this project can do so here via ebay)

I picked up a 1/43 Mini Moke just before Christmas with the intention of converting it into “The Village Taxi”. The model was part of the James Bond Car collection and had a canopy attached in blue and white stripes.

1/43 James Bond Collection Mini Moke

1/43 James Bond Collection Mini Moke

1/43 James Bond Collection Mini Moke

1/43 James Bond Collection Mini Moke

1/43 James Bond Collection Mini Moke

1/43 James Bond Collection Mini Moke

The first thing I need to do was to paint out the blue strips and make the whole canopy white, also needed to do something about the rear window too, so elected to fill it in with Green stuff.

Work begins

Work begins

Moke 7

It took several thin coats of white paint to fully cover the stripes, I also neglected to take photos of the green stuff on rear window!

I also made a spare wheel for the back of the Moke out of Green stuff as the Bond version did not come with one.

My first thought was to paint in the correct colour stripes, but sadly my hand is not that steady, so the only answer was to design a decal sheet..which i did.

It took a great deal of patience to do. and some special solvents from Micro scale to help the decals conform to the surface of the model.

Ultimately I was very happy with the result, much better than I could have done with a brush.

1/43 Prisoner Mini Moke Conversion

1/43 Prisoner Mini Moke
Conversion

1/43 Prisoner Mini Moke Conversion

1/43 Prisoner Mini Moke
Conversion

1/43 Prisoner Mini Moke Conversion

1/43 Prisoner Mini Moke
Conversion

12 responses to “The Prisoner Mini Moke (conversion)

  • Paul Weston

    Si great work on the Moke, well impressed. I’ve been struggling to think of a way to represent the ‘Campanile’ tower clock face but having seen your use of decals realise a decal is the solution. Can you help me do this as I haven’t a clue on making decals? Paul

    • slotkarman

      Hi Paul, more than happy to help. There are some technical issues with making decals sometimes, but I’m happy to give it a go.
      Do you have any pictures of the clock face? In an ideal world it would be easy if the picture was square on/level with said clock face, and in close up!!….but I know that will be unlikely!

      However it may be possible to recreate it. Send what reference material you have and tell me the diameter in milimetres you need and I’ll see what I can do! Do you need any other artwork turned into decals while we are at it?…it helps fill up a sheet!!
      Si

  • Jeremy

    Cutting the figures out of the seats is a pain but, the figures look smaller (at 1/43) than my crooked dice no 6 (at 1/55), so they can be stripped up! ready to drive.

    I am going to attempt the seats too as the whole base comes off and they can be got to easily, I still need to source some chrome hubcaps….

    • slotkarman

      Hi Jeremy, totally agree with you, it’s not just the figures, everything seems to be spot welded. I took my second moke completely to pieces as I wanted to have an open topped version as well. getting all the parts off is a nightmare, but can be done.
      I had to sand down the seats and fill the holes with Green stuff!!
      I designed a transfer to go the seats yesterday…it won’t be available for a couple of weeks, but i plan to add it to the decal sheet. Happy to send you some in post if you can wait.
      How many cars are you doing?
      it is the same combinations of stripes on the canopy (2 dark brown wider stripes and 2 thinner lighter stripes in middle.) photographic evidence suggests several options…including 4 stripes all same thickness and colour.
      Several drivers in 28mm are available if wish to use them with a head swap. scroll down this page to drivers (3 of them are very useful)
      http://www.empressminiatures.com/userimages/procart29.htm

  • Jeremy

    I really like empress have some SCW too. It would be great to have seat decals I am doing 3 – 2 closed and 1 open. I need to research more on the variations, they appear to be brown inside, and have white or black front bumpers. I think i have found a suitable hubcap using a filler cap from a mercedes 125 in 1/32 scale.
    I will email a pic as i can’t figure out how to add here.

  • Jose Manuel

    Fantastic.
    Much better than my collection of the prisoner.
    Jose Manuel

  • Ted

    Would love to buy a sheet of the Mini Moke conversion decals. I did not see these listed on eBay.

  • slotkarman

    Hi Ted, if you send an email to slotkarman@aol.com I will be able to send you a paypal invoice. Sheet is not up on ebay, but I do have the decals in stock. they are £3.99 a sheet plus postage. If you want to buy anything else from pigeon guard i can put them in with that. Let me know first.
    Si

Leave a Reply

